Introspection when cell phones gone with the wind.

Smartphone-less-ness for perhaps just half a day was such an experience even though I was able to access Internet to some extent.

A **unfortunate negligence** in a regular Friday morning results in losing my two cell phones – personal and work one – in a large area of wet brushwood, chest-high tussock, thick growth of grass with tons of mosquitoes.

Impossible to have them back. Frustration doesn’t stop there, of course.

You don’t really need a PhD degree to understand how lifeline is as if cut for a cell-phone-less in his 30s: the discomfort, if not anxiety, level began to escalate.

To clarify, I’m a relatively low-tech tablet-less person.

Still, after a while, I was sort of panicking over:

  1. no daily usual cell phone-base activity;
  2. having got no time (when not wearing a watch);
  3. emails and landline phone calls as basic communication media at work never enough;
  4. feeling disconnected to everything.

On top of the above, I drove no car in most of the day in Calgary, a city where public transit isn’t convenient enough when travelling in and out non-downtown and surrounding areas.

During that day or less, never did I seem to miss an important phone call, an unmissable email or even a causal notification from Facebook that opened in web browser via my desktop. I’ve realized the now disappeared little portable device is more than a communication technology but works like a water and bread to someone’s life.

Advantageous unsecured living style.

But I did not die without that pocket-sized gadget.

This experience is quite different from a getaway or an out-town trip when phone signal or wifi is simply dead.

The very first thing in mind when my cell phones were gone was to rescue them as soon as possible. The second thing I did was to inform some close friends in private messages and ironically to post a status in Facebook. And the third thing, quite predictably, is to find a way out to back to “normal”. All three are aimed at keeping re-connected.

What is our normalcy?

Without a cellphone around, we may have to give up instant Google search for an address, a price check of certain things, immediate response to/from someone, on-the-spot Instagram photo(s) before meal, or efficiency that is helped from new tech.

By the same token, we may gain some. Learn to be patient for all things, enjoy the real world from a more in-depth perspective, communicate with others in more direct way, arrange ahead to organize a bit our daily schedule, and slow down with deep breathe.

Fair enough.

Summarize in this way: while we sometimes forget we are free-will human being, we are in charge of our own lifestyle(s).

Actually, not always the case.

Discernment is the hardest part.

**Long story short: I dropped my car off for a service; a shuttle driver gave me ride to office 2 hours before work; I decided to walk for breakfast but took a short cut instead; after I walked across a soccer field size of grassland, my phones were gone; I searched twice but could not find them.

Leave a Reply

