Some of My Best Photos of 2015

Every year in about this time many photographers share their best photos of the year so as to review and conclude what they have done. I am just one of the thousands (or more).

A productive year that I have got new equipments for still photography and learned different skills from action camera for video.

“Photography has become a household word and household want; is used alike by art and science, by love, business, and justice; is found in the most sumptuous saloon, and in the dingiest attic.”
Lady Elisabeth Eastlake, 1857 “Photography”, London Quarterly Review

Before sharing mine, if you may have time, check my instagram and Flickr Flickr and please follow me.

Enjoy the visuals.

image

I started blogging for food in Chinese language when I was in Japan. This “steak on rice” one is one of the best beef I have had outside Alberta.

image

Another new skills is smart phone app enhancement – I have got an app that can add subtitle and make movie-like scene. The photo was taken in a JR train when I was going from Tokyo to Kyoto. With cold tone white balance, the photo creates an unexpected mood.

image

I pick this as my best portrait photo of the year. The lady was using a Nikon film camera for her flower photography. What a passionate photographer! I wish I will still have the passion for photos when I am in my 60s or beyond.

image

Meteor shower shot around Ghost Lake, Alberta. Not a super fancy one but what a great experience with another photo-friend.

image

Manhattan Beach is one of the places I have been wanting to visit. Under the beach’ bridge/pier is a amazing location for sunset photos, mainly because of its unique sillouette scenery and Pacific Coast’s seascape.

image

Alberta is a landscape province where  Photoshop skills in unneeded. Hiking to Johnston Canyon in late spring to have this memorable jaw-dropping picture.

image

Hiking has been one of the favorite outdoor activities other than soccer. You may visit many great places, like this one. Kifune Shrine in Kifune, Kyoto, Japan has been famous because of an animated cartoon Spirited Away by Hayao Miyazaki.

image

On my way to another hiking trip, this photo was done by my new lens – Sigma Art Series 18-35mm f/1.8L. It was a muddy morning but after this road I was able to see Mount Fuji from another peak.

image

The funny part is, by all means, the photographer in the picture and the guy who looked at the photo-guy. While all other photojournalists are on the other side, this guy appeared at the back of former Prime Minister Stephen Harper during his campaign in Calgary.

image

I am told this photo is the most favourable one. The girl who is a phubbing caught me.

image

Flowers, flowers and flowers. Red and yellow flowers, green leaves and trees, and blue and white sky make this photo perfect.

image

Macrophotography for flower hugely depends on natural lighting if you don’t want to do more editing. This vertical photo with absolute zero  editing is now my phone’s wallpaper.

image

Often, I don’t share my photojourno pictures outside my work platform. afterw, Syrian refugees issues have been globally galvanized into real action after a drowned boy photo is widely shared and distributed. The dad-son photo taken is one of the refugees settling down in Canada.

image

Rachel Notley flip pancakes first time during the week of Calgary Stampede as Premier of Alberta. She did a great job.

Leave a Reply

